Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We rented this house for a stateside family reunion and the location was superb. The outside amenities such as the pool, large lawned garden overlooking the bay and dock offered many opportunities for games and relaxation. Our kids caught so many crabs off the dock during our short stay!
Captains Cove had many pool toys, badminton rackets,croquet etc which offered endless fun for all the family. Similar to many other reviewers, the games room was well stocked with a wide range of games but with no aircon (only some fans) was extremely hot so we could only use it first thing in the morning, which was a shame. But on the positive note, there were enough to do outside that we didn't feel we missed the games room during our stay. Our biggest gripe was over the quality of the basic amenities you'd expect from a rental of this price range. The bathroom towels and bed sheets were very thin and as basic a range as you can get and it was clear they did not wash the quilts on the beds after each week of rental which showed signs of yellowing among other stains and were pretty off putting. Also, the beds were not very comfortable and probably due for a replacement. However, the housekeepers did arrive on Wednesday to tidy the house, but the linens do not get changed during your stay, which we knew.
Overall, it was a fantastic venue and with improvements it would be without a doubt a great vacation experience.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We were so delighted to stay at Captain's Cove! While there enjoying the pool and air conditioning and surroundings, our home in VA had no power in 100+ weather!! Everyone loved the location and amenities !
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family of 10 recently stayed at Captains Cove for 11 nights and had a wonderful time. The home was beautifully furnished and well equipped with every thing we needed to make our stay most enjoyable. The kitchen was beautifully organized. The grounds outside were lovely and the pier was great for crabbing and docking the boat we rented. Conveniently close to downtown St Michaels yet in a peaceful, quiet cove. We could relax and enjoy the whole area. The kids loved the barn attic full of games: foosball, air hockey, ping pong, and much more. The outdoor pool and patio area with a convenient pool house also was enjoyed by everyone. Overall our stay far exceeded our expectations and we would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay with family in the St Michaels area that Captains Cove is a wonderful experience!
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We rented this property because my daughter was getting married in St. Michaels. The location was perfect. Our family had a great time crabbing, playing ping pong and croquet, and relaxing by the pool.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Second year in a row over Memorial Day, this time for more than a week. Age range 2-70. Rented boat, crabbing, fishing, tubing, golf, reading, pool and family all in perfect weather made for another idyllic stay in a spectacular property. Owner even called to be sure we were happy. It doesn't get any better than this. JWF
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great vacation at Captains Cove. The home is beautiful - it had everything we needed and more. The pool was terrific - it was a hot week so we used it a lot. The kids loved the game barn. Too hot to use during the day, but it was OK in the evenings or early mornings. The furnishings are beautiful, the kitchen had everything we needed and the butlers pantry came in handy for our group of 10. Landscaping is lovely.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The only negative - the barn was too hot to use for most of the week.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Loved the property - just wish we had a boat! One bathroom upstairs made for a traffic jam at times with 8 people in the house, but otherwise the place is wonderful!
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Love the pool and hot tub. Loved fishing off the dock. Great location. House was set up perfectly. My husband and I on one side, son, daughter in law and kids on the other, each with our own bathroom.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great time at this house on the water. Was a very big splurge but for this family of 4 plus dog it gave us a lot of space. Dog spent the entire weekend chasing sticks into the water. Loved our time there.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful 5 days at Captains Cottage. While it is not a fancy house, the lay out was excellent for our group - 2 bedrooms on one end and the third on the other side allowed for privacy and quiet. Everything about the house worked with our group of 4 adults and 3 children. The pool is lovely and the creek access to St. Michaels was very nice for us. If there was one thing that I would make a negative comment on, it is the use of that nylon mat sort of grass product- I consider it very dangerous with children being in bare feet at the pool and perhaps running on that stuff. Even adults need to tred very carefully so as not to catch and cut your toes! That's my two cents.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Good except air conditioning went on the fritz the last two days. miserable and no fans. We have stayed here in the past. Was disappointed that esvr didn't even bother to call us to check whether the air was working and having the repairman in the house for 2 1/2 hours ruined our evening. Ps the repair guy did a thorough and great job! The exit code didn't work and it was after 10:00am but your phones were still on "our office is closed"!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The staff at Eastern Shore Vacations were always available, responsive to our needs, and very helpful. They made us feel like we were their top priority at all times.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We liked the house and the location. The kitchen was well equipped. The lamps were not adequate for reading; we bought light bulbs. Our problem was with the pool of septic material near the house on the waterfront. Apparently the system overflowed a while ago and has not been dealt with. Need to be fixed!! Icky to have septic overflow in yard
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great waterviews , very scenic. Comfortable cosy cottage , well maintained. Close to town and restaurants.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We stayed at Captain's Cottage for a week in July and absolutely loved the house and yard! The house was very clean and nicely decorated with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. We enjoyed the built in pool and the hot tub and the whole beautiful yard in general. There are big, old trees so we could always find shade, a nice table and chairs by the pool for eating outside as well as a screened in porch. We really liked having our boat right at the dock and enjoyed water skiing and tubing on Glebe Creek. It was also a short boat ride to St Michaels. The rental company was very organized and great to deal with. I highly recommend Eastern Shore Vacation rentals and Captains Cottage!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is our second year staying at the Captain's Cottage. We enjoyed the pool immensely. The yard is nicely shaded that even on the hottest of days you can enjoy being outside. This home is situated wonderfully. It feels very remote but you are only a stone throw away from Easton. We enjoyed our shopping experiences in Easton and Scossa Italian Restaurant is divine. The ESR Staff are very professional and so helpful. We will be back !!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a peaceful, beautiful place. The whole family enjoyed it! Property Management was prompt, professional and went out of their way to help us before, and during our stay. Wonderful experience... kayaking, crabbing, swimming fun! Thanks!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We fell in love with The cottage and are already looking at rebooking. It's such a peaceful setting and warm, welcoming home. And Eastern rentals far exceed our expectations in their support and service. Thx a million.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location, great layout! Enjoyed the pool, hot tub and dock immensely. Had an issue with AC on our last night, but management promptly and expertly resolved the problem. The professionalism of every staff member we encountered is commendable. Keep up the good work!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We enjoyed a relaxing Memorial Day Weekend. It was too cold to use the pool but we enjoyed the hot tub and the wonderful view. Kitchen is very well equipped. Wish we could have stayed longer.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a wonderful house & location! The house is beautiful and has everything you need, especially if you like to cook. Kitchen is stocked with many appliances and gadgets. Great screened in porch which was my dogs favorite room. House is very clean, roomy and beautifully decorated! We fished, crabbed and swam everyday! We located the local produce stands and seafood market, cooked out every night & relaxed and had fun with our children. We wandered through downtown Easton and the great art galleries. The Trippe Hilderbrandt Studios were very kind to my family. Mr Hilderbrandt gave us a tour of his studio and work space. My children loved it and it was very inspiring. Hill's Pharmacy has a great breakfast counter too!! St. Michael's is a short drive from the house and we went into town a couple times and enjoyed the shopping and restaurants. Such a peaceful and relaxing place! We are already talking about planning next years vacation at the Captains Cottage!!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We loved this location. Glebe Creek is beautiful! Very few boats but plenty of birds and sunsets. Our kids fished and caught crabs off the wonderful dock right in front of the house. We also loved the bulldog next door (Marzipan). He was super sweet and did not bother us at all. He ran out to his dock and watched the boats/kayaks go by. The neighbors kept a watchful eye on him. The screen porches were nice and the pool was kept clean by the caretaker. It is a smaller home but a great value for the price. The kitchen was well stocked and the location is super convenient to Easton for nights out and grocery store trips. This home is well maintained and a good deal when compared to the other houes we stayed in the following week. The management company was very helpful as well.
View Property: Captains Cottage