Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Just that you consider rewriting directions to your office to include landmarks. It was so bright the day we arrived, we couldn't read our digital dashboard. So we couldn't track mileage. And while you know you're on South Harrison, the street signs do not say north or south. So just tell us to turn the end of Golsborough, pass x number of lights or cross Dover and you're a half block down on the right, across from Mason's, or similar. I should also say your staff was excellent from start to finish.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family of three (one 8 year old) stayed at Martini Cottage in June-July 2010 for a three week period and loved our time there! The decor has been recently created and is absolutely perfect and charming, the kitchen well appointed, and the beds quite comfortable. We love the history of the cottage being a Sear's cottage - there is a copy of the original poster on the wall to see the Colonial Revival vision of the house. The cottage is well built and comfortable, yet cozy.We loved sitting on the front porch and saying hello to the passing neighbors. The next door neighbors are very friendly and helpful. That was a delight.The property manager was very responsive.Ways it could have better? The Euro-style combined washer/dryer seems energy consumptive and takes an eternity to go through the cycles. The garbage disposal is touchy and better not to use at all. The outbuilding/pool table room could have benefited from an air-conditioner (we didn't get to use it much from the unusual hot days). Oxford's Fourth of July fireworks were magical over the harbor. The Cardboard Boat Race also a treat. Loved the safety of riding our bicycles everywhere in town, especially to the Scottish ice creamery. For wooden boat lovers, a visit to Cutts and Case's "museum" is a treat.Oxford is sleepy for kids, though we heard later that they have a great day camp. A public pool closer by would have been nice (and Oxford is in the process of fund-raising for one.)
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is our second trip to the Eastern Shore and our second time renting with ESVR. This again proved to be a great location for a multi-generational trip. The house delivered on all aspects. The pool was amazingly private. The proximity to the water created a private, peaceful environment. We would not hesitate to return. My only minor complaint is kitchen was not as well supplied as previous property and other rentals (few utensils, pots, etc.)--again minor complaint. Overall a wonderful week--we miss it already!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This home has it all. It has a great location with only a short distance to the Miles River where you can go tubing and enjoy boating. Getting out of the mouth of the creek was a little tricky, especially at low tide, but we were warned about that. The dock was able to accommodate 2 small boats, but was not big enough to put chairs on and enjoy the view. The yard was a good size and was big enough out front for wiffle ball. The pool was a little chilly because there apparently is a leak and a hose was constantly filling the pool. There is a crepe myrtle near the pool that was loaded with japanese beetles, which fell into the hot tub and pool, so cleaning was needed. We did not have instructions on how to run the hot tub, which would have been nice. The home was the cleanest house we have been to yet. It has a nice layout in the living area and was well equipped in the kitchen. The home feels isolated but is just a short drive from St. michaels and Easton stores and businesses. Overall a great place.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very enjoyable. Loved the house. Only problem was getting out of the cove.A huge sandbar with no markers! It might just deter us from enjoying this house again. It was a very big problem! They should at least have some sort of chart for boaters staying in this house!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mallard's Landing is a nice place to wake up to everyday. The house is roomy, nicely decorated, and clean. We loved the pool, billiard room, and beautiful water views. We took a walk on the quiet, private road every morning, and a bike ride or run every evening. St. Michael's is such a quaint town, with excellent restaurants and shops. Easton is nearby, with a movie theater, bowling alley, and stores to visit. We also enjoyed taking the ferry to Oxford and trying the ice cream at Highland Creamery.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location! Very close to gas station/ mini-mart, with excellent grocery stores and a Target just a bit further. It's also a short and lovely boat ride right into St. Michaels - a perfect trip for lunch or dinner. The creek is only 2-3 feet deep, which was great for peace of mind in letting our young kids kayak and explore on the dock without having to be right by their side (kitchen and sun room layout is perfect for being able to keep an eye on them while preparing dinner, etc.) The only downside to the creek depth is that it made boating navigation a bit challenging at times, but you can definitely figure out a decent route with a little patience. As another guest noted, pots and pans were a little "tired" and could use some updating, but the layout and functionality of the kitchen overall was great. It would be terrific if the quality of the bed linens and towels could be upgraded given the amount charged for this rental. They were very thin and rough! This is probably more a management company issue than a house issue, but I do think it's worth noting. The beds themselves could use some upgrading -- mattresses weren't super comfortable, and it would be nice visually if there were actually headboard (they are just mattresses on box springs). The pool furniture was perfect (plenty of chairs/ loungers, and in good shape) and we were so happy to find a large umbrella and stand in the pool shed. Our kids spent hours swimming and playing, and we loved watching them while taking in the beautiful water view. We really didn't leave the house much --- there was no reason so with all the fun we had right there at our fingertips!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family rented Mallards Landing for two weeks and we very much enjoyed the property. The location is perfect - right in between Easton and ST. Michaels so shopping and restaurants were easy to get to and we rode our bikes to get coffee (5 miles) The house was furnished well especially with lots of books, cook-books and movies. The home was very clean when we arrived and had a great layout. The only real "pet peeve" we had was the kitchen wasn't stocked well. No regular sized mixing bowls (we bought one and left it at the property), old pots and pans (very worn and without lids) and the knives were useless. We actually made a trip home to grab some of these items for some big meals we planned. The house came with a kayak and unfortunately it started taking on water so the rental company had a rental brought in to replace the one included with the rental. The back creek is beautiful and we went out twice a day. The pool table was great - gave us all more activities to do and the garage is stocked with bikes and family games like ladder-ball etc. One other downside to the rental was the hot-tub wasn't functional. We were extremely surprised especially because it was one of the reasons we chose this rental. When we inquired with the rental company they stated it was listed in the marketing material which is illegitimate as these items should be in the lease. Regardless, we would rent the home again for all the other amenities made it worth while. Just make sure you confirm with the rental company that certain amenities are operational!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This was our first time coming to the Eastern Shore of Maryland! Mallard's Landing was in a great between St. Michaels and Easton downtown. The house was wonderful and the views were spectacular! Our children were able to fish from the dock which they loved. The pool was very nice and was a necessity with the 90+ temps that week. Unfortunately, we were unable to use the pool table because the outdoor shed it's housed in was way too hot. I also wanted to mention we drove to Rehoboth Beach one day so kids could go on some rides and hit the beach......also did some shopping in the outlets.....just an hour and 30 minute broke up the week and gave the kids something else to do. There were also two very minor issues that needed attention at the time of our visit and ESV staff had someone come out immediately to address the we were very pleased with their quick responses. I would definitely recommend this house to others.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We were very pleased with the Mallard's Landing location. The water views were incredible, landscaping was beautiful, and the pool was a plus. Enjoyed watching the turtles, lizards (tiny & colorful), osprey with young and the herons of course. Only thing that would have been an extra plus would have been single man kayak and a crab pot for guests' use. Would definitely recommend this house to others for their vacation destination. Plenty of things to do at the house as well as only a short trip to St. Michaels, Easton and Tilghman's Island.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great time! We had a little bit of trouble getting the boat in and out of the inlet during low tide, but other than that, we very much enjoyed our stay.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Was absolutely perfect. So relaxing. The pool was ideal and the views awesome from the time i woke up until bedtime.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This the 5th year I have rented two homes for my family reunion and once again with the help of Megan it was PERFECT!! Houses were terrific!! The families enjoyed their own homes and I enjoyed going to visit! ESVR is a big part for a HAPPY SUMMER thank you!!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mallard's Landing is one of the loveliest properties that we have rented from Eastern Shore Vacations. The setting is beautiful (although the bushes near the shore could be trimmed for greater water views) and it is an excellent location between Easton and Saint Michaels. However, one of the main reasons we rated the property a 4 and not a 5 is that it could not accommodate our 30 boat as we had been told. The entrance to the creek has a MLW level of less than 18 inches so it is not suitable for larger boats. In addition, the AC in the house seemed rather antiquated and not all of the bedrooms remained cool (but there are electric fans in the closets). We especially appreciated that the property was dog friendly and had complimentary access to the Internet. We did have minor maintenance concerns that were quickly addressed during our stay. The pool was very enjoyable, and it would be even nicer if the hot tub feature were functional in the future. Overall, a wonderful visit and a recommended rental.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very relaxing , tranquil setting on the water.Property is private yet close to shopping and restaurant's.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Fabulous reunion with 7 was perfect for us and we hope to return in the future.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very comfortable and welcoming home with most, if not all, the creature comforts we needed! Loved the enchanting water views from the living room and sunroom. We biked and walked the quiet neighborhood and enjoyed the beauty of the cove from the dock and the Adirondacks. Nice location between St Michaels and Easton!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We arrived on Tuesday, September 6th and departed on Saturday, September 10th. The house and grounds were awesome. Due to the rainy weather for our entire stay, we were not able to enjoy any outdoor activities or use the pool. Despite the weather, we were able to amuse ourselves with board games, cards, and some good steamed crabs which were purchased locally. The house is totally accommodating - well appointed furnished tastefully. We would like to come back (hopefully, the weather will be better the next time). The Kellys PS. Because of the Labor Day Holiday, the trash was not picked up from the previous week. We had many bags of trash for the following week.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our multi-generational annual vacation was spectacular! The grounds were beautiful(mature gardens and a flowering cactus) and the house is straight out of Pottery Barn. Open floorplan allowed for being together while the bedrooms were close enough to retreat for individual quiet time. Temps hit 100+ and the a/c kept up. Pool was spotless and used several times each day. Kitchen was well stocked for our family who prepared all meals and ate in - only thought is that it would have been helpful if there was more than one trash pick-up. Fish and crabs not interested in being caught off the dock, at least not this week. Kayak was a pleasant bonus. Easy to access Easton or St. Michael's.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mallards Landing, Everything was great, the house is very well maintain the pool was clean and cool, everyone had a greatime. see ya next year. Dan & Mary
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
My only suggestion is to provide instructions for using the spa part of pool. We were not able to fully enjoy it since we didn't know where controls were located.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This home was beautiful! The furniture and beds were very comfortable and the furnishings were top of the line. We had beautiful weather to make it a wonderful weekend.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Beautiful quiet setting. Wonderful sunrises with coffee on the dock. Close to restaurants and St. Michaels. Kayaking on the creek and biking along quiet roads. Perfect!
View Property: Mallard Point Cottage