Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This was a great place to take the grandkids. We spent a lot of time in the pool. They thought it was great and had plenty of space to play, fly kites, go fishing,swim and explore. We were far enough away from town but just close enough for a quick drive for ice cream. The marine Museum was great for them with lots of hands on things to do. My grandson was very proud to be a Junior Captain on the Patriot a local tourist tour boat. We had a wonderful and busy week. This cottage is especially good for children.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house is nice but smaller than it appears in the pictures. Also, be aware that the full bath is on the first floor (the second floor, which has the 2 bedrooms, has the half bath). The house and the furniture are in good condition. The outside chairs do, as others have mentioned, desperately need re-painting. Also, the giant bush on the patio needs to be trimmed. So do the trees that are by the pool (lots of leaves land in the pool and sink to the bottom making the pool not so appealing). Love the large lawn but be aware of the numerous green outlets sticking up; they are a major tripping hazard (bring orange cones if you have kids that run around).
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Wonderful, quiet, location. Wish the weather was warmer to enjoy the location. Want to go back in the Summer!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This was our second stay at Mack's Landing and we love the location. It's close to St. Michael', but quiet enough that you can totally relax. The property is very well equipped and very clean. Every possible item that you could need in the kitchen is provided. The staff at Eastern Shore Rentals is very friendly and responsive. We would absolutely stay there again. The owners do need to replace the outside furniture and pool furniture - which is not in very good shape. That's the only negative, since the house is in great shape and spotless. The pool is older, and probably needs some repair and paint. But overall, we really love this house.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
A side of the squeaky floors the place is a good place to relax, bathrooms not so great and water has low flow. Best things are the pool, kayaks and bicycles. Overall good place to getaway from the city, if you don't care about fancy stuff.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
It was our third visit to Mack's Landing and we love it. The main suggestion we'd have is for a bit of a cleaning of patio and edging around the house-perhaps a sweeping before the new guests arrive and a more regular cleanout of the shed as getting to some of the amenities was tricky and/or dirty. Otherwise, we love the property and and the week we had and will likely return.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our week at the Shore at Mack's Landing was quite enjoyabe. The house was comfortable - child and dog friendly. Our 11 month old grandson enjoyed his first time kayaking and his first time riding bikes in his new seat. We all enjoyed the pool, spending many hours each day floating to escape the heat. St. Michaels and Tilghman Island were both close enough for shopping and lunch.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We spent an amazing week at Mack's Landing. The view was wonderful and was about a 10 min drive to St Michaels which was nice. We travel with our small dog and this property was perfect for her. The house is decorated in a very cozy manner. Some updates to furniture and home needed but nothing too distracting from our vacation. Some furniture is stained / water stained and the bottom step of the stairs is broken so you just have to take a little care when walking downstairs. It is an old home so we were not expecting perfection - it was just little things that need some maintenance. No big deal. The huge, open kitchen with a wall of windows facing the river was our favourite room. We were sad to leave and would definitely return again.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mack's Landing became our site for getting together with family from MD, PA, and NM to catch up, eat crabs, play board games, view the beautiful scenery and generally relax. The dog loved it there too!!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Pros: Kids (4 & 7 yo) friendly w/lots of toys & play area, great location, friendly neighborhood, cute St.Michaels town, nice management, quiet & great for adults too

Cons: Messy shed & broken play items, dishwasher leaked on/off, 1 shower for 3 BR, 3rd BR is really a fold-up couch (altho worked for a mom & 2 kids, and it is able to be closed off)

Overall we absolutely loved it, even with a heavy rain here & there, we enjoyed a lot. Kids were ecstatic w/joy! It's also a very quiet area. Would recommend & love to go back. Don't forget to enjoy the stars from the terrace on master BR!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The property itself was charming and clean. There was some deferred maintenance, but nothing major. We had an issue with the house alarm (two power surges caused it to beep and no instructions how to stop it) and setting the heat, but nothing rose to the level of a real problem. The only real issue we had was with the neighbors. First, they had a couple of barking dogs that would disturb the peace at various times during the day, though we did not hear them after bedtime thank heaven. Also, the neighbor played his reggae music extremely loud beginning Saturday afternoon until around 9:00 pm.

Lots of pretty drives and great food to be had in the area. Generally a very relaxing place.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I absolutely loved this house!! The location, amenities, and decor were absolutely perfect!! We made use of the pool, kayaks, outdoor grill and many hours sitting around the kitchen table admiring the view. There was a bit of a fruit fly situation but
it was nothing that dampered our visit. We have already discussed when we are going to be able to come back!!!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mack's Landing was a very nice home. Very kid friendly and the pool was great. It was wonderful we got to bring our dogs on vacation! The house could have been a little cleaner...but we delt with it. It would not stop me from going back there again as it was nice. Crabbing, fishing, swimming....life was good. AND, beds were comfortable!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We has a lovely week. Glad the pool was avail as it was very hot. We were not prepared for how much the tides effected our ability to access our kayaks, when it was low tide, it was muddy. Overall a very restful week and we are looking forward to exploring the area again soon.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful stay at Mack's Landing. This was our third stay out on the Eastern shore and this house was the most kid friendly with the playground, swings, toys inside and a pool. There were a couple of chairs outside that were broken but other than that, the house and outdoor seating was very comfortable. We were most pleasantly surprised that you could crab from the dock (thought the water would be too shallow) and having the great crab trap and the crab pot to steam them in made it an "official" eastern shore vacation!! We will definitely rent again at this house! Bonus...Courtney and Debbie are always so nice and helpful at the ESVR office.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I recently stayed at Mack's Landing with 2 other friends and we had an awesome time. The kitchen was very well equipped for a week's stay. We enjoyed having two living areas - the tv room and the sun room. The view was beautiful and it was very peaceful. The drive to St. Michael's was about 7 miles - which was not a problem at all.
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful time at Mack's Landing. We were dissapointed in the condition of the kithcn and the lack of places to put our things.The kitchen was very dirty and lacking a lot if you want to do much cooking. Next time I will bring my own things. The pool was nice but badly in need of some updating. It was not well maintained and was cloudy all week. I have never stayed anywhere that had so much clutter in the closets from the homeowners. We had no where to go with our own things. Just freeing up a little closet/cupboard space would be great. Also the trundle bed about broke our backs trying to pull it out and use it! None of those things were a dealbreaker for us however. Overall though we had a great week and the property as a whole really suited all of our needs. We would definately return!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mack's landing is a charming house in a beautiful location. It had everything we needed for a great week. The one negative was that when the tide went out, it went out so far that our boat was sitting in mud, and we couldn't take the boat out until the tide came in again. Other than that, everything was great!
View Property: Macks Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Enjoyed our stay at this location. Love how it's tucked away in a woodland area. The house is perfect for a family to rent for the weekend, and it's not too far from Chestertown for your grocery needs. Really enjoyed the kayaking and the solitude of the area. Definite recommended!
View Property: Lovely Cove Farm
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The property description is accurate; the house and grounds are wonderful and peaceful.
View Property: Lovely Cove Farm
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family had a really good time at Lovely Cove. The setting was very beautiful and very private. A true nature lover's dream. Spent the week watching the heron and eagles nest right on the river. The house was decorated with beautiful antiques and updated kitchen was lovely. We fished, kayaked and swam in the pool. Our seven year old caught his very first fish! Few notes: There is a large hornets nest outside on the master bedroom balcony. The pool skimmer was completely broken. My husband tried to buy one off of the pool cleaners but they said they did not have one. The largest umbrella by the pool was broken/dry rotted. Upstairs master bath/shower diverter(handle) was broken so we could not shower in that bath at all. In fact both upstairs shower/bath units need attention/updating. That may be the only reason that would possibly stop us from returning to Lovely Cove. The owner has obviously taken great care of the home just needs to address the tub/shower's in both baths and he'll have a home run! All in all we had a fantastic trip!
View Property: Lovely Cove Farm
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Loblolly Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We took a much needed family vacation with our family of 5 plus my mom and sister. We were in need of some relaxing time away directly following my fathers death from a several month battle with cancer. Ironically, the trip was booked before he passed away and the timing couldn't have been better.

Upon arriving at Loblolly, we were immediately impressed with the location, the breathtaking and expansive view and the fabulous amenities both inside and out. Our favorites were the huge dock for fishing, watching the sunsets, swimming, kayaking and paddle boarding; the pool for playing games, sunning and diving; the NEW game room for family ping pong competitions; the expansive backyard waterfront space for playing wiffle ball, soccer, bocce ball and frisbee; the sunroom dining tables for eating all our family meals and relaxing on the glider chairs in the shade; and the overall layout of the bedrooms and baths gave everyone so much space and privacy.

Another favorite was all the little extras the home provided like a cabinet full of board games, books galore and loads of spices, baggies and wrap in the kitchen. We actually felt like we were staying at a relatives homes instead of a rental. It was just that stocked!!!

The few minor needs we had were immediately addressed with the rental company such as an air conditioner for the boys bedroom, as the current one wasn't very cold, and a new grill because the gas grill decided to stop working. ESVR were incredibly easy to work with.

Our family had one of our BEST vacations ever here. It was quiet, calm and full of adventure. It was such a beautiful location to spent time with our family. It was perfect for all of us! We look forward to booking again.
View Property: Loblolly Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Loblolly was lovely - the weather was very hot but there was always a breeze to keep it tolerable outside. The pool was excellent as well as the layout of the home. The only drawback was the MLW was listed as 3' but it seemed the water was almost always less than 3' and often only 2' deep which meant my inlaws were unable to bring their boat for the day and dock at the pier. The ladder off the pier was excellent to get in and out of the kayaks and it was nice to have the kayaks on site to use. There's an eagles nest at the next door neighbors so it was amazing to see the two adult and a young eagle flying over throughout the day. The area was private and very quiet. The only reason I gave 4 stars for the property management as opposed to 5 is that on the day of checkout we were unable to open the key box to leave the key and I left a message on the emergency line but never received a call back. Also after arriving the pool had a lot of bugs in it but the hand skimmer was broken and the robotic vacuum was disconnected. I emailed ESVR but they did not respond to this either. We ended up just using the broken end of the skimmer and getting in the pool to skim it ourselves each day. Otherwise our stay at Loblolly was excellent.
View Property: Loblolly Cove