Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I rented Hudson Manor over the 2012 Memorial day weekend, from Wednesday to Wednesday. The location is perfect and the drive was nice (not too long) coming from the Washington DC area. Is was a relaxing week. We took time to see some of Cambridge/Eastern Shore area: visiting the Chesapeaske Hyatt (for the spa), the Blackwater Refuge, taking a ride on the skipjack Nathan, and visiting Salisbury and Crisfield. It was my 50th birthday and the house was the ideal location and size for having family and friends all together. I was even lucky to find an excellent caterer nearby, Garden & Garnish from Trappe MD, who provided an excellent dinner for us Saturday evening. Everyone, from ages 5 to 79 and in between, had a great time. The house location, size and amenities made us all feel almost like being at home while on vacation.

The only thing I would change is to have a way to disconnect the auto-pool-cleaning roover. It's so quiet, it sneaks up on you and startles you when it touches your legs or feet while you're in the pool.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Hope to stay there again next year!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We have rented the same property with ESVR for two years. The property was in good shape the first year, however the improvements (e.g., re-designing the volley ball court, landscaping, etc.) since our first visit have made the experience even better. Keep up the great work! We plan on making this an annual event.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The size and location of this house is excellent. We had a fabulous family Christmas weekend! There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep and lots of activities to keep us occupied (in addition to great conversations). Though there was a leak in one of the bath pipes, we called and there was someone there in no time, and he fixed and cleaned everything - and that was on Christmas Eve.
The only improvements I'd recommend: heat was not evenly distributed throughout house (downstairs BR very hot, upstairs twins very cold); mattress/box spring on the double bed is shot - one or two adults get a very uncomfortable sleep.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Beautiful house and location. I like the fact that everything was included: towels, sheets, cleaning, etc. Made having many guests a pleasure. Hot tub was great. Kitchen very nice.

The reservation system was flawless and the staff at the office were on the ball. Best system I've used.

We had a few technical issues: beeping and chirping smoke alarms that acted up at 1 am. Hot water heater died so had no showers; house heater did not work on the last morning either. Calls to maintenance person were never returned, but these were not "emergencies" in any sense. Just inconvenient.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The twin beds were not comfortable. The lay-out of the room with the king bed, daybed, and two twins was very awkward and would not work for an unrelated group of people. One of the kayaks had a broken rudder.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This house is well worth the $$. We felt at home and enjoyed every aspect of the house. The staff at ESVR are very responsive, always pleasant, and easy to get ahold of! Thanks for an amazing vacation!!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This week was a vacation and reunion for our family. The Hudson Manor house provided all the necessary spaces i.e. sitting rooms, living room, dining room , screened in porch, outdoor fire place for the family to come together and share their musical,
poetry and lyrical talents with each other in a restful, bucolic setting....the pool and jacuzzi were used extensively.....biking in the area was tremendous...and trips to the Blackwater national wetlands and Hoopers Islands were fantastic.........we would
recommend visiting Maryland, Eastern Shore Vac Rentals (great staff) and particularly the Hudson Manor house to any large family looking to reconnect and reinforce their family thread connections.........
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This house is set on a beautiful piece of property. We had 14 staying here, but I probably wouldn't have wanted but maybe 1 or 2 more to sleep comfortably. The house is sprawling and quiet, with no one bothering anyone's sleep. We were there during some extreme heat and the A/C worked great in all rooms but the 3rd floor sitting room. A room A/C in that room would be very helpful. Also, appeared to be a bit of a bug problem in this area, but did't become aware of it until day we left. Flies are a real problem in this area, and nearly impossible to keep out of the house. I would strongly suggest the property provide fly paper or some other solution, or be sure and bring your own. Pool umbrella in the garage was a lifesaver when sitting by the pool. Also, crab pot in garage made for a fabulous shrimp boil our last night. New huge gas grill outside has a separate burner for the pot.
House rental may be pricey, but if you are a loud active group looking for a place that is so peaceful and quiet with no other houses nearby to disturb, then this is a great house for you!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The property manager was very responsive when we had a problem and repair work was done within a couple of hours.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Boat dock is shallow
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We hosted family and friends for my husband's 50th birthday at Hudson Manor and had a fabulous time! There was kick back space for everyone, without anyone feeling cramped or without privacy! All the guests, from 1 to 83 years old found something fun to do. We would go back in a heartbeat!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This vacation home was one of the best we have ever stayed in. It had a fully equipped kitchen and had terrific amenities for our large family. Thank you to the owners for giving such TLC to their home.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We are a group of about 20 graduate students from the University of Delaware, and we held our annual team-building retreat at this house. The house was very nice, clean, and spacious. Everyone was very impressed with all of its amenities, its seclusion from other homes, and the amount of space inside and outside. There were no bad surprises, and the rental staff was extremely nice and helpful. Thank you!!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
House was beautifully kept and was perfect for a large group of friends to get together for a college reunion. We all enjoyed having our own space and beds while having enough common areas to enjoy each other's company. The location right on the water is beautiful and was conveniently close enough to DC for a weekend get-a-way. My only request would be to put some kind of sign at the end of the driveway to indicate where to turn off for the house. Everyone found it on the second pass without a problem, but it would have helped, especially at night, to have small sign out front.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house is beautiful however there is a big problem with the mosquitoes and the flies. You should place fly motel everywhere outside the house before guests arrive.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Beautiful property with all the necessary amenities.
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful stay at Hudson Manor! The home has obviously been recently restored and is beautiful and quite comfortable. My only suggestions are to mark the step-downs into the sun porch - my elderly parents were with us and nearly fell several times. We ended up putting temporary bright orange tape down which helped greatly. Also, the gate to the pool was not latching properly which was a concern as we had small children with us. We would definitely stay here again!
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Hudson Manor
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I love the house and the location. Such a perfect place for a large family to spend time together away from normal routine. Everything from the beautiful interior architectural of the house, the tower with it's 360 degree view, with plenty of land to take long secluded nature walks. Enjoyed kayaking the Chesapeake Bay, Slaughter Creek, and Little Choptank River. Plenty of sandbars and small islands to explore. Simply because the location only had two kayaks which was just not enough for everyone, I would go for the kayak package. Enjoyed my time in Maryland.


View Property: Holland Point Preserve
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very much what we all wanted: Privacy, peace, excellent fresh food available, wonderful access to the water and (all but one day) sunshine. One point; there could be more electrical information on the workings of that very complex house
View Property: Holland Point Preserve
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Most memorable family getaway ever!! We have been talking about going back since the minute we arrived. Home was so well equipped, everything we needed; plenty of space and privacy, and bathrooms galore. We came in with groceries, and never left the island for 3 days. Fantastic amenities, living room furniture a little worn not the coziest, but totally acceptable for a hunting property. Grounds were phenomenal, dock great for the kids fishing, plenty of space for outdoor games and excitement. Fantastic, remote, quiet, relaxing getaway. Breath taking sunrises and sunsets, our own slice of heaven. Both yellow labs, could not have been happier, or more exhausted. Our family loved it, thank-you.
View Property: Holland Point Preserve
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Spent four days at Holland Point Preserve, and was one of the best family vacations we have had. The house was large enough to accommodate all 14 of us, plus two doggies that loved the water. Kitchen is well stocked with everything for cooking anything you might want. The crabs from Lindy's Crabs were the best we have ever had and the screened in porch made a great evening place to have our crab feast.
The property is amazingly beautiful...beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The weather was beautiful and our family kayaked everyday.
We have a beach house in SC , but this was such a delightful change and everyone is talking about doing this again.
View Property: Holland Point Preserve
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We enjoyed the view and activities. The house was well stocked with supplies that you would need. Also ESVR was very accommodating to our needs during our stay.
View Property: Heron Point