Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I would recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit Oxford! It was adorable and met all of our needs perfectly. We loved the fact that 2 bikes were included in our rental. That is definitely the best way to see all that Oxford has to offer or take your bike on the ferry to St. Michael's, another great town. Thank you for sharing your home!
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Loved this little place and really loved Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals. The staff was professional, courteous, and responsive. The house had some minor water damage that looked recent-- I called to let them know and they replied, somewhat chagrined, that the house had been booked solid the past few weeks so they hadn't been able to repaint, but that they had stopped the leak. I liked that they knew the property that well. Moreover, the house was terrific... really cute, nicely furnished, and very clean. Wish we could have stayed more than two days!
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great place to get away from it all, especially after Hurricane Irene! Cute cottage for a family of four. The surrounding areas are beautiful. Looking forward to a return visit.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We really enjoyed our time in Oxford, a charming town, but be warned - there isn't a lot to do there. That was fine with me, though - really enjoyed the friendly people and the charm of the Chesapeake. The house was comfortable and well appointed. (Though
we were mystified as to how to run the disposal - you should include some directions, perhaps.) Enjoyed the owners' cookbooks!
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I would give 5 stars to all questions. Place was fabulous - just as shown online. We were two retired women and felt very comfortable and safe in this little, beautiful community. Even close to activities in Easton and St. Michaels.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
this is a very nice, well-laid out home. the furniture and bedding were great and the yard, location and extras were all appreciated. if you are looking for a small but very comfortable place in Oxford, you could not go wrong with this cottage.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We were very pleased with the house layout and cleanliness as well as close proximity (walking distance) to everything in Oxford. Unfortunately, the street flooded and was closed the day after our arrival due to heavy rains, but did not have much impact on our stay.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Inviting decor with attention to detail, good location, property is well cared for and very comfortable.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The pictures don't do it justice. The cottage was clean and very tastefully decorated. The starter package (dish soap, paper towels etc.) was all we needed and more. There were 4 adults in our party and we all really liked the cottage and the location. We would certainly want to come back to visit. There was not an ipod docking station so if you enjoy music, bring your own.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We enjoyed our stay very much. Quaint town + quaint cottage. Oxford is VERY quiet in Winter, which is what we wanted; Summer may be different as marinas abound. If healthy, whole town walkable + surrounded by water on 3 sides. Winter downsides: not many places to eat out or much to do in Oxford (bring books, games, DVD's), but Easton close by + St. Michael's not much further. ECVR was very helpful + responsive to any issues.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Exceeded Expectations. NOTE: Kitchen porch light out; no DVD.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Just that you consider rewriting directions to your office to include landmarks. It was so bright the day we arrived, we couldn't read our digital dashboard. So we couldn't track mileage. And while you know you're on South Harrison, the street signs do not say north or south. So just tell us to turn the end of Golsborough, pass x number of lights or cross Dover and you're a half block down on the right, across from Mason's, or similar.

I should also say your staff was excellent from start to finish.
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family of three (one 8 year old) stayed at Martini Cottage in June-July 2010 for a three week period and loved our time there! The decor has been recently created and is absolutely perfect and charming, the kitchen well appointed, and the beds quite comfortable. We love the history of the cottage being a Sear's cottage - there is a copy of the original poster on the wall to see the Colonial Revival vision of the house. The cottage is well built and comfortable, yet cozy.

We loved sitting on the front porch and saying hello to the passing neighbors. The next door neighbors are very friendly and helpful. That was a delight.

The property manager was very responsive.

Ways it could have better? The Euro-style combined washer/dryer seems energy consumptive and takes an eternity to go through the cycles. The garbage disposal is touchy and better not to use at all. The outbuilding/pool table room could have benefited from an air-conditioner (we didn't get to use it much from the unusual hot days).

Oxford's Fourth of July fireworks were magical over the harbor. The Cardboard Boat Race also a treat. Loved the safety of riding our bicycles everywhere in town, especially to the Scottish ice creamery. For wooden boat lovers, a visit to Cutts and Case's "museum" is a treat.

Oxford is sleepy for kids, though we heard later that they have a great day camp. A public pool closer by would have been nice (and Oxford is in the process of fund-raising for one.)
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Martini Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is our second trip to the Eastern Shore and our second time renting with ESVR. This again proved to be a great location for a multi-generational trip. The house delivered on all aspects. The pool was amazingly private. The proximity to the water created a private, peaceful environment. We would not hesitate to return. My only minor complaint is kitchen was not as well supplied as previous property and other rentals (few utensils, pots, etc.)--again minor complaint. Overall a wonderful week--we miss it already!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This home has it all. It has a great location with only a short distance to the Miles River where you can go tubing and enjoy boating. Getting out of the mouth of the creek was a little tricky, especially at low tide, but we were warned about that. The dock was able to accommodate 2 small boats, but was not big enough to put chairs on and enjoy the view. The yard was a good size and was big enough out front for wiffle ball. The pool was a little chilly because there apparently is a leak and a hose was constantly filling the pool. There is a crepe myrtle near the pool that was loaded with japanese beetles, which fell into the hot tub and pool, so cleaning was needed. We did not have instructions on how to run the hot tub, which would have been nice. The home was the cleanest house we have been to yet. It has a nice layout in the living area and was well equipped in the kitchen. The home feels isolated but is just a short drive from St. michaels and Easton stores and businesses. Overall a great place.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very enjoyable. Loved the house. Only problem was getting out of the cove.A huge sandbar with no markers! It might just deter us from enjoying this house again. It was a very big problem! They should at least have some sort of chart for boaters staying in this house!
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Mallard's Landing is a nice place to wake up to everyday. The house is roomy, nicely decorated, and clean. We loved the pool, billiard room, and beautiful water views. We took a walk on the quiet, private road every morning, and a bike ride or run every evening. St. Michael's is such a quaint town, with excellent restaurants and shops. Easton is nearby, with a movie theater, bowling alley, and stores to visit. We also enjoyed taking the ferry to Oxford and trying the ice cream at Highland Creamery.
View Property: Mallards Landing
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location! Very close to gas station/ mini-mart, with excellent grocery stores and a Target just a bit further. It's also a short and lovely boat ride right into St. Michaels - a perfect trip for lunch or dinner. The creek is only 2-3 feet deep, which was great for peace of mind in letting our young kids kayak and explore on the dock without having to be right by their side (kitchen and sun room layout is perfect for being able to keep an eye on them while preparing dinner, etc.) The only downside to the creek depth is that it made boating navigation a bit challenging at times, but you can definitely figure out a decent route with a little patience. As another guest noted, pots and pans were a little "tired" and could use some updating, but the layout and functionality of the kitchen overall was great. It would be terrific if the quality of the bed linens and towels could be upgraded given the amount charged for this rental. They were very thin and rough! This is probably more a management company issue than a house issue, but I do think it's worth noting. The beds themselves could use some upgrading -- mattresses weren't super comfortable, and it would be nice visually if there were actually headboard (they are just mattresses on box springs). The pool furniture was perfect (plenty of chairs/ loungers, and in good shape) and we were so happy to find a large umbrella and stand in the pool shed. Our kids spent hours swimming and playing, and we loved watching them while taking in the beautiful water view. We really didn't leave the house much --- there was no reason so with all the fun we had right there at our fingertips!
View Property: Mallards Landing