Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We thoroughly enjoyed our getaway to Oxford! Our cottage was charming, everything we needed. We even overcame the Wifi not working for the weekend, thank goodness for hotspots on our phones. The house has lovely decor, location is perfect for walking and really comfy beds. Two suggestions: bathtubs are slippery, need safety strips and the one TV is really small, maybe an upgrade is in order. Thinking about coming back in the Fall!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house is quite nice - spacious with a cute porch and yard, and comfortable furnishings. The location is great, very close to the water on Tred Avon and walking distance to the little market and Pope's Tavern. A prior renter mentioned the abundance of personal items in the home, including pictures. While there are such items, and an open owner's closet, we were left more with the feeling that someone opened their home to you, rather than a cold, never lived in rental. We did not think that the personal items were overbearing. I would definitely rent the home again.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a lovely holiday at Pride and Joy cottage. We were very happy with the house and location. We had a bit of a hiccup upon check in where the management company office was not open and we were wondering how we would pick up our keys, but it was resolved quickly so was not an issue overall. Also, the TV has a bit of a trick to get it to have sound which we figured out fairly late in the week, so a specific note about that would have been helpful. Having a place where young children and dogs are welcome was perfect for us and we would definitely visit again.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great home in a quaint, wonderful town.
Very clean and well appointed.
Highly recommend.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The cottage was lovely, clean and comfortable, and the town of Oxford was so peaceful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It was great to be able to bring my dog along as well. Loved the front porch and proximity to town. One suggestion-The owners could perhaps remove more of their own personal items from the closets (strollers, child gates, etc)In addition, after shopping, there was no place to put provisions since the pantry cabinet was clearly marked "owners pantry" and was full of owner's things. So for the week the counters were cluttered with what I had bought. I have rented many homes but this was the 1st time there were so many personal items including photos of the owner's family- on the top of bureaues, etc., again limiting space. Between the items in the closets and kitchen as well as all the photos,I sort of felt I was being intrusive,rather than actually living in a "summer rental".
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Everything was above average and we cooked some wonderful meals! It would have been helpful to have access to spices and such as we do enjoy cooking. Rental staff were very helpful in clarifying how to use the TV and DVD player- need good written instructions! I also recommended that the screened porch could use a thorough cleaning to make it more enjoyable to use! The house and location were terrific!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Very enjoyable family trip! The house was comfortable and met all our needs!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We spent a week at the cottage, what a beautiful home. The area is very quiet, nothing much to do in the local town, there was no public beach or swimming in the town which meant day trips each day to find things to do but it was very relaxing and the neighbors are all very friendly. As there were six of us we prepared a number of meals at the house, the appliances were top notch with the exception of the ice maker not working in the fridge. The kitchen was pretty well equipped but lacked a number of items, eg. there was no muffin pan, no martini shaker, a must for our family. If I was to stay in Oxford again I would want to rent a house with a pool, the weather was very hot and sticky and a dip would have made all the difference.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is the fourth year that we have stayed at "The Pines" and we were, again, rewarded with a restful & pleasant visit. The new outdoor kitchen is a great addition this year.The house is clean, well equipped & comfortable. The management staff is friendly & responsive to any need. The location is close to St. Michaels (only minutes by car) and is quiet & peaceful. We've rented three other places in the area, but this is our favorite (as evidenced by our fourth consecutive year of renting). We'll be back!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had difficulty getting in trying to use coded lockbox-but after calling mgmt. # we used code on door-much simpler. Had a unique exp. watching the bay flood up over the dock. We LOVE this place, the new master is great & I love cooking in that kitchen. We will be back!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We've come to the Pines property several times over the years, and have always loved our stays. This time was no different! The property is maintained VERY well, and the owners have spared no detail in making the house comfortable. We'll definitely be back!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
A great place to get away over the holidays with friends and family. Beautiful water views and quiet area and only a 10 min drive to St. Michaels for shopping and retaurants. Rise Up java hut located right at the turn off road and Graul's proximity allows for nearby shopping needs. Great social spaces and well equipped kitchen. Only issue was the wireless network which was fixed by ESVR and then worked great. The only downside to this home is that we wish it had more bedrooms in relation to it's great social spaces. This home is a must if you like to try vacation homes on the Eastern Shore.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our 3rd year here! We'll be back. House has all the comforts & amenities you'd ever need. Great dock for my rental boat. Great pool. Only a few minor problems this year; Refrigerator smelled of fish & one of the easy chairs in living room had a fishy odor on the arms. Someone sat there after handling fish & didn't wash-up very well. Again, I suggest the owner replace the charcoal grill, the current grill has broken handles, a broken wheel and the legs are wobbly and the kettle is rusting out. The pool hand skimmer net was useless, it was ripped & torn and needed replacement. Also, the deer flies made it difficult to enjoy the lovely deck & poolside lounges. They weren't as bad this year as last year, but still bothersome. Bring bug spray! An electric can opener would be helpful. My wife has arthritic hands & couldn't use the manual opener. Aside from these minor things, the home was wonderful, the management staff were great and we will definitely be returning.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The Pines is beautiful both outside and inside..the perfect spot to relax and unwind!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We went to St. Michaels for the spring half marathon and rented Pines at Barrett Cove. We had a great stay. The house is well set up for couples - very open on the inside and the kitchen is large and well equipped (maybe the best equipped of any rental I have stayed in). The grounds are expansive and beautiful, and the pool is a big bonus. A wonderful house, and we will be back.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Everyone loved the house, great location.Lots of birds to watch. My daughter loved the hot tub and the pool came in handy to practice her paddle board skills.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Everything was there that I needed. The washing machine was a bit noisy. very clean and great sunrises!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great home with spacious living areas, and great location. Best equipped kitchen we've ever seen in a vacation rental! Excellent hot tub and deck area as well.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I have been coming to the Bay for over thirty 30 and the "Pines at Barrett's Cove" is outstanding. For the price,location and aesthics, nothing compares to this rental from Rock Hall down to Cambridge.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
My family had a wonderful 5 day vacation at the Pines at Barrett Cove. The house exceeded expectations in every way. We had 5 adults and 2 dogs staying at the house and we never felt cramped. There were plenty of sitting areas throughout the property where we could all come together or get away. The kitchen was well equipped with the essentials that were in good condition. The knives were sharp, the spatulas were not melted, and the toaster, stove, and microwave all worked perfectly! The towels and linens were clean and fresh, and the furniture was comfortable to sit on. There were 3 crab traps on the dock that we took full use of everyday. The kitchen had everything we needed to have a crab dinner every night. The kayaks were in like new condition, the pool was beautiful, and the hot tub was perfect. I have stayed at many rental homes, and have learned to bring an abundance of household items because things like the toaster or coffee makers are cheap and work poorly. This is not the case at Barrett Cove. Save yourself the burden of over packing and only include salt and pepper, and a large coffee cup. Thank You Pines at Barrett Cove for a perfect stay!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Second year here. Very enjoyable. A most comfortable home. Peaceful & serene. Great pool. Just some minor issues: cushions on some of the wicker chairs & loveseat have little or no padding. Need light blocking curtains in master bedroom ( spotlight on adjacent cottage on all night shone thru window,making sleep difficult. Needed dustpan, couldn't find one.
All in all, a great place. We'll be back !
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We recently stayed for 7 nights at the Pines at Barrett Cove and cannot say enough good things about this property. This is our second stay with Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals and second time in St. Michaels this year, once in the winter and most recently at Pines. The house was exactly as advertised and we could not have been more pleased.

The property and pool were well kept, the kitchen is well equipped and great for cooking and still being part of the conversation in the sunroom. We caught lots of crabs from the dock and enjoyed them several nights during our stay.
St. Michaels is a short drive and we enjoyed late afternoon shopping, picking up shrimp at Big Al's and pizza from Ava's on more than one occasion.

We will definitely be booking a week next summer very soon.

I should not forget to mention the staff at ESVR. The trash had not been collected (not a big deal) when we arrived and when I called there was someone there within a few hours to haul it away. These folks are professional and certainly want you to enjoy your time in St. Michaels.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
THE PINES @ BARRETTS COVE WAS A VERY QUIET, RELAXING VACATION FOR OUR FAMILY. WE BROUGHT ALONG OUR LITTLE JOHN BOAT AND THE GUYS WENT CRABBING EVERYDAY AS WELL AS OFF THE PIER. THE POOL WAS VERY REFRESHING AND "THE MONSTER" IN THE POOL KEPT THE WATER SPARKLING. OUR YELLOW LAB SWAM IN THE CREEK EVERY DAY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOME TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A QUIET RELAXING VACATION. YET, IF YOU WANTED, THE QUAINT TOWN OF ST. MICHAEL'S OFFERED NUMEROUS SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS. WE HAD A GREAT TIME!
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great stay at this property. The house and grounds were exactly as described. My husband and 7 year old twin girls loved the pool and had a blast catching crabs off the dock. We had 2 large crab dinners in the week that we were there! Before arriving I was unaware of the jellyfish in the bay, but my girls thought they were incredibly cool to look at and poke. :) The wi-fi connection worked well and both AT&T and Verizon cell signals were strong. The kitchen had everything that we needed and my children LOVED the tree swing out front.
View Property: Pines at Barrett Cove