Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This cottage is perfect if you want a secluded getaway! We only left the house twice; to go into St Michaels and to go to the grocery store. Everything we wanted was right there and the property is exceptionally clean and comfortable. Gorgeous views made
our stay complete!
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We loved everything about the cottage, comfort, views all great!
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful time. The trip was a bit shorter than our first trip, but it was still a fabulous time. Our dogs LOVE it there.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The only drawback to the cottage was the long distance between Tilghman Island and the nearest town (St. Michaels). It was superb for its isolation and Dogwood Bay views. That's the 'river' side to the locals, but it was no different than any other bay to the rest of the world. Lots of excellent dining and sufficient groceries and tackle for most needs within 2 miles of the property. Excellent location for those desiring biking and boating including waterskiing. Might be OK for 2 couples but this is best for a single family of 2-4 people. Faces east so excellent sunrise views but sunset is over the trees. Sunset over the Chesapeake would be a short drive. Loved it, planning to return for our next eastern shore escape.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a peaceful, relaxing, stress free getaway! Our second stay. Lovely view, accommadations. Only suggestion is screen doors for front and side door. Keep flies out & when nice weather can open windows for a lovely breeze. Staff at Eastern Vac Rentals are always helpful!!
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
On this, our first visit to the Eastern Shore I wanted a place which would make it possible to feel in touch with the original lifestyle of this region. This rental was perfect for this purpose-it is a well renovated,air conditioned, charming cottage- absolutely no sacrifice in terms of aesthetics or comfort -yet it avoids the more fancy and gentrified aspects of St. Michael's. The open space around the cottage is beautiful, one of the best restaurants in the region is up the road so there is very little to complain about- I would rearrange one or two kitchen cabinets and there were three excessive flies-that's it...
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We just stayed at Simplicity cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is on the river and is so nice and quiet. The cottage is completely charming and well-equipped with everything we needed. We are already planning our next stay!!!
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful time, the rental was beautiful and we plan to vacation there again
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
I was pleasantly surprised by how close the cottage was to the water. Beautiful views from the cottage. So close we could hear the waves against the shore. Beautiful sunrise on Saturday morning. Very serene and private... a wonderful weekend escape.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Exceeded expectations. Great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We greatly enjoyed our weekend at Simplicity cottage. The peacefulness, serenity, and the outstanding view over the Choptank River were ideal. Quite a pleasnt change from the Beltway routine.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
lovely property -
the flies were an annoyance, and the location was a little too residential for us.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Simplicity at its finest. Enjoyed waking to the sunrise over the water and seeing the watermen crabbing. Then the moon over the water at night. Great biking, walking and running. Great food and fun at Tilghman Island Inn. The Bridge Restaurant was terrific -- great service excellent food - Smith Island cake out of this world. Good breakfast at Two If By Sea.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a view--what a lovely renovation. We crabbed, kayacked, fished, went boating,grilled & napped in the hammock and sat out under the stars. The owner thought of EVERYTHING in the kitchen and was generous in allowing us to use all the amenities you always pay extra for. We couldn't have been more pleased. All we really desired was to see pics of the original cottage and know the history! We hope to return!
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The owner may consider getting a phone where you can cut the ringer off. The phone rang all hours of the day and night; we eventually shoved them in the couch cushions. Its the smallest of things -- and did not dampen our stay. I look forward to returning.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Wonderful visit. The home had much more than we expected. When we drove up to the home, we were thrilled with the location. When we entered the home, it was so much more than we expected.
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We were told to bring dish detergent, toilet paper, garbage bags etc. Pleasantly surprised that most things that are a part of the daily needs of a kitchen and bathroom were provided. The renters need to be informed that they don't need to bring a lot of unnecessary "stuff". I wish "Simplicity" cottage was on the list of the 25 % discount list for the off season rentals ! ! : o (
View Property: Simplicity Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house is awesome, very clean and has many amenities such as a fire pit by the water, bikes, paddle boards, crab traps and even a croquet set. We had planned to do a lot of things while we were in St. Michaels but found ourselves just sitting and enjoying the view.
View Property: Red White and View
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Red White and View offers all the conveniences we expected. The house is spacious, the furniture comfortable, the kitchen completely outfitted and the location great plus easy to find. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the St. Michaels area.
View Property: Red White and View
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful time! The home was so comfortable and relaxing. My almost two year old son loved it as well.
View Property: Red White and View
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We just used the first floor, which is the renovated part of the house, and enjoyed its comfort and ease, with nice decorative touches.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We stayed here during the last week of July, 6 of us including 2 kids and 2 dogs. Very family friendly location and great for dogs. Walked to the beaches, park and shops. Did a lot of biking, kids had a great time fishing and caught crabs, fish and even a sting ray! Oxford is a very small town, but it was perfect for a relaxing getaway. Most sidewalks are brick and just walking around town looking at all the houses was enjoyable. We took the ferry to St. Michaels one day. Drove 1.5 hours to Ocean City one day. But, the most fun was just hanging around the town of Oxford and enjoying the sights, swimming, fishing, etc. This house has a great dining room/table, had nice family meals. AC worked great in the house, was hot outside during our stay, so we weren't able to open windows, but didn't notice any noise distractions. House is in a perfect location. House is in need of a deep cleaning, saw cob-webs, soiled area rugs, etc. Eastern Shore Rentals is a great company, very polite and answered all my questions. We had a non-usable grill and within a couple of hours they had a replacement delivered. Would definitely book through this company again.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is a neat old house, lots of charm and character, little spaces and nicely remodeled - well maintained and appointed. The sleeping arrangements worked great for our group of six adults and two kids and one little dog. There are just a few things that need to be fixed to make this a great stay.

Ants! It was very hot over 4th of July weekend so no doubt the ants were more active, but, pretty much everywhere in the kitchen, there were ants. You couldn't put any food down on any location without the ants finding it. There were traps out, so clearly it is a known issue, but then we had to make sure we moved all the traps from where the dogs and kids would play. The ant issue really needs to be resolved, I wouldn't stay there again so long as it had this issue.

Doors stick - a number of the doors are really difficult to open or close properly, including the one to the patio and the one from the guest room to the bathroom. It loses its charm once you spend 5 minutes trying to get a door open or closed.

Guest room bed ist kaput. The mattress is really saggy and uncomfortable, frame is old and bent plus it is right against the wall and makes sleeping for two uncomfortable.

The family room could use a big wrap around sofa rather than the small love seat and chairs - with more than 4 people we found it uncomfortable to hang out together in the family room - people had to sit on the floor.

Despite these minor issues, we had a great stay at Red Shake and suspect you will too - just make sure the ants aren't joining you for the weekend.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage