Testimonials | Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals

Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house is great! i've stayed there before. Only complaint about the house is the mattress in the master bedroom. Megan at ESVR is always great, and good at what she does. I think there is a new hire that seemed a bit overwhelmed so there were a few hiccups, but nothing that would make me stop renting w/ ESVR.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Oxford is a lovely,quiet town - the small market just up the street from the cottage was very convenient - the house we rented was large enough for our two daughters, and their families, to stay for a long weekend - it was clean and well stocked with dishes, glassware etc. - we did often travel into Easton or St. Michael's for entertainment (loved the beer and wine tastings in St.M) but also enjoyed the quiet time in Oxford. We had a great time!
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our second stay, and every bit as wonderful as the first. The cottage has terrific airconditioning (important for hot humid August, when we stay); comfortable furnishings, a location great for walking to that famous Highland Ice Cream place, the little country store (with great meatloaf on Fridaysi), and so much more. Love this place, and will return next summer (and many more , too!
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house was really wonderful, the large windows downstairs, all of the natural light coming in and doors leading to the outside spaces was so nice. The master bathroom is absolutely wonderful! I had a small issue with the refrigerator, but I called the 800# for after hour emergency and received a call back in 10 minutes, everything resolved immediately. All of the staff is extremely professional and highly organized! Thank you!
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Loved the character of the house...mixing old with the new. Yard was lovely and since most was fenced in was great for our dog. Were there over July 4th and the weather was extremely hot, but the central A/C did an excellent job of keeping the house cool. Especially enjoyed sitting on the screened-in porch in the morning and evening. Sorry we couldn't utilize the french doors more because of the hot weather. Oxford is a step back in time and we liked the quiet and peacefulness of the town. Would definitely go back to the Red Shake Cottage. Think fall in Oxford would be lovely.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Enjoyed my stay, would come back
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
My Vacation was wonderful, it was quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed the local Church Waters Methodist on the corner. It was truely a blessing, I would love to return this summer.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Had a great visit to Oxford over the Xmas holidays. Very relaxing and peaceful house and town.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family gathered in this property for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The house was spacious and in good condition; The large family room, kitchen, and dining room with bench seating let us spend time together comfortably. Everything was exactly as depicted.

My two suggestions for improvement would be to (i) get rid of the small appliances which don't work (there were three coffee makers around, only one of which worked), and (ii) find a way to level the bed in the small upstairs bedroom (the floor tilts slightly, presumably because the house is old, which is fine, but we felt like we were going to roll out of the bed at night).
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Having the house in Oxford made the whole trip a huge success the house was the highlight of the trip. My son loved the house so much he wants his next house to look just like this one.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Enjoyed our stay in Oxford -- lovely little community. Great Ferry service also.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Property and location were exactly as described. How often does that happen? We loved the little town of Oxford and can't wait to return. Our only complaint was the mattress in the master bedroom, which was very uncomfortable. The property manager contacted
the owner, and it was replaced the very next day. Now THAT's service! Can't recommend the area and ESVR highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful week.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
A wonderful house for 8 people..nice outside courtyard to entertain...wonderful master bath...great kitchen...lots of linens...only thing...needs more outside lighting by front and especiaaly back door...easy bike ride to all restaurant and yacht club...ample
parking
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Red Shake lived up to our expectations based on all the other rave reviews we read. With 2 small kids, the house was ideally laid out and the fenced in yard gave us peace of mind while outside. Oxford as a whole was a little remote but the Strand beach
and Victor's ice cream more than made up for it!
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Location, comfort, style--this cottage has it all, and the management staff were wonderful. Only complaint is the bed in master bedroom: uncomfortable and noisy (no box spring). We'll be definitely back to a charming house in a quaint, tiny hamlet of Oxford.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The Red Shake Cottage was the perfect house for 7 adults visiting the area for 4 nights. The house is very spacious and comfortable and the area is beautiful. I'd definitely return.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The only problem was with the downstairs bed. The mattress made so much noise,especially getting in and out of bed, that we were uncomfortable with it the entire stay. We don't know if it's just the mattress or the bed itself is part of the problem.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house was great, but the beds were not comfortable, especially the downstairs bed (noone could sleep in it because it was so bad). They need a new can opener and coffee maker. These minor adjustments would make a really big difference. Porch & kitchen were great.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location. Very helpful staff from Eastern Shore Vacations. House was very nice. Improvements would include more televisions,upgrade to HD on the existing televisions and a DVD player that worked.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Thank you very much for everything! My family rented this house for the week leading up to my wedding at the Combsberry Inn and it was great. It was missing a music/CD player, but they brought one right over.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Lovely house. Charming town (Oxford). Only complaint is that there was very little room in the kitchen for a renter to put things because it was filled with owners' belongings. We had to pile food on the counters. ESVR was great- the rental process could not have been easier.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a fabulous time in Oxford & thoroughly loved the Pride & Joy cottage. If possible, we'd love to come back next year. I got to visit the Mystery Loves Company shop but didn't get to the museum. We also enjoyed the Pope Tavern & Scottish Highland Creamery... on more than one occasion! Neighbors were warm & friendly. We were happy to meet so many other dog lovers. The cottage was charming & impeccably clean. We needed customer service once & they responded quickly & efficiently. A PERFECT vacation. As far as recommending it to others... I'm not sure because I want to keep this my little secret :-) I'm kidding. I'd recommend this trip to anyone!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage