Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great vacation at Captains Cove. The home is beautiful - it had everything we needed and more. The pool was terrific - it was a hot week so we used it a lot. The kids loved the game barn. Too hot to use during the day, but it was OK in the evenings or early mornings. The furnishings are beautiful, the kitchen had everything we needed and the butlers pantry came in handy for our group of 10. Landscaping is lovely.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The only negative - the barn was too hot to use for most of the week.
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Loved the property - just wish we had a boat! One bathroom upstairs made for a traffic jam at times with 8 people in the house, but otherwise the place is wonderful!
View Property: Captains Cove
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Love the pool and hot tub. Loved fishing off the dock. Great location. House was set up perfectly. My husband and I on one side, son, daughter in law and kids on the other, each with our own bathroom.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great time at this house on the water. Was a very big splurge but for this family of 4 plus dog it gave us a lot of space. Dog spent the entire weekend chasing sticks into the water. Loved our time there.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful 5 days at Captains Cottage. While it is not a fancy house, the lay out was excellent for our group - 2 bedrooms on one end and the third on the other side allowed for privacy and quiet. Everything about the house worked with our group of 4 adults and 3 children. The pool is lovely and the creek access to St. Michaels was very nice for us. If there was one thing that I would make a negative comment on, it is the use of that nylon mat sort of grass product- I consider it very dangerous with children being in bare feet at the pool and perhaps running on that stuff. Even adults need to tred very carefully so as not to catch and cut your toes! That's my two cents.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Good except air conditioning went on the fritz the last two days. miserable and no fans. We have stayed here in the past. Was disappointed that esvr didn't even bother to call us to check whether the air was working and having the repairman in the house for 2 1/2 hours ruined our evening. Ps the repair guy did a thorough and great job! The exit code didn't work and it was after 10:00am but your phones were still on "our office is closed"!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The staff at Eastern Shore Vacations were always available, responsive to our needs, and very helpful. They made us feel like we were their top priority at all times.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We liked the house and the location. The kitchen was well equipped. The lamps were not adequate for reading; we bought light bulbs. Our problem was with the pool of septic material near the house on the waterfront. Apparently the system overflowed a while ago and has not been dealt with. Need to be fixed!! Icky to have septic overflow in yard
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great waterviews , very scenic. Comfortable cosy cottage , well maintained. Close to town and restaurants.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We stayed at Captain's Cottage for a week in July and absolutely loved the house and yard! The house was very clean and nicely decorated with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. We enjoyed the built in pool and the hot tub and the whole beautiful yard in general. There are big, old trees so we could always find shade, a nice table and chairs by the pool for eating outside as well as a screened in porch. We really liked having our boat right at the dock and enjoyed water skiing and tubing on Glebe Creek. It was also a short boat ride to St Michaels. The rental company was very organized and great to deal with. I highly recommend Eastern Shore Vacation rentals and Captains Cottage!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is our second year staying at the Captain's Cottage. We enjoyed the pool immensely. The yard is nicely shaded that even on the hottest of days you can enjoy being outside. This home is situated wonderfully. It feels very remote but you are only a stone throw away from Easton. We enjoyed our shopping experiences in Easton and Scossa Italian Restaurant is divine. The ESR Staff are very professional and so helpful. We will be back !!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a peaceful, beautiful place. The whole family enjoyed it! Property Management was prompt, professional and went out of their way to help us before, and during our stay. Wonderful experience... kayaking, crabbing, swimming fun! Thanks!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We fell in love with The cottage and are already looking at rebooking. It's such a peaceful setting and warm, welcoming home. And Eastern rentals far exceed our expectations in their support and service. Thx a million.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location, great layout! Enjoyed the pool, hot tub and dock immensely. Had an issue with AC on our last night, but management promptly and expertly resolved the problem. The professionalism of every staff member we encountered is commendable. Keep up the good work!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We enjoyed a relaxing Memorial Day Weekend. It was too cold to use the pool but we enjoyed the hot tub and the wonderful view. Kitchen is very well equipped. Wish we could have stayed longer.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
What a wonderful house & location! The house is beautiful and has everything you need, especially if you like to cook. Kitchen is stocked with many appliances and gadgets. Great screened in porch which was my dogs favorite room. House is very clean, roomy and beautifully decorated! We fished, crabbed and swam everyday! We located the local produce stands and seafood market, cooked out every night & relaxed and had fun with our children. We wandered through downtown Easton and the great art galleries. The Trippe Hilderbrandt Studios were very kind to my family. Mr Hilderbrandt gave us a tour of his studio and work space. My children loved it and it was very inspiring. Hill's Pharmacy has a great breakfast counter too!! St. Michael's is a short drive from the house and we went into town a couple times and enjoyed the shopping and restaurants. Such a peaceful and relaxing place! We are already talking about planning next years vacation at the Captains Cottage!!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We loved this location. Glebe Creek is beautiful! Very few boats but plenty of birds and sunsets. Our kids fished and caught crabs off the wonderful dock right in front of the house. We also loved the bulldog next door (Marzipan). He was super sweet and did not bother us at all. He ran out to his dock and watched the boats/kayaks go by. The neighbors kept a watchful eye on him. The screen porches were nice and the pool was kept clean by the caretaker. It is a smaller home but a great value for the price. The kitchen was well stocked and the location is super convenient to Easton for nights out and grocery store trips. This home is well maintained and a good deal when compared to the other houes we stayed in the following week. The management company was very helpful as well.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The location commands excellent views of the Glebe Creek, and the open, airy feel of the property cools even the warmest day. There is a gracious, welcoming style to the house and yard that harkens back to the family waterfront home of another era. It was a real pleasure for our entire family.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family voted this our best and most relaxing vacation to date! We thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable and aesthetically pleasing accommodations ... all the comforts of home. The well equipped kitchen made meal prep a fun activity. The pool was divine! We enjoyed having our boat docked on site for easy access. Best of all having our 4 legged family members with us!!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Captain's Cottage is a lovely vacation home. The setting on the river is quiet and peaceful. The pool was well maintained and really added to our enjoyment.The home is well layed out and nicely decorated.The only thing I would change would be to take out the older carpets and put down wood laminate floors.The 2 screened in porches really allow you to fully enjoy the river view.The proximity to downtown Easton and St Michael's was great.The staff at ESR are professional and so responsive to any request.Our family really enjoyed our stay !!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Rented June 30-July 7, 2012. Our overall vacation experience in this house was good. We had extreme heat the week we rented and the A/C in the house had a hard time keeping up with the temperature. Also, cooking in the house caused the temperature to rise so we tried to avoid cooking anything for long periods of time. The house would cool, but it took up until 11:00 pm to cool completely. Once again, we had extreme temperatures. The kitchen was well stocked with nice kitchen supplies. The house was very cozy with a BEAUTIFUL VIEW. We loved having our coffee at the kitchen table while looking at the Miles River. We brought our boat down and we had excellent crabbing in the river and from the boat dock. It was July 4th when we were there and we watched beautiful fireworks from the boat dock. The kids loved the pool and stayed in it much of the week. As a matter of fact, the pool was cooler than the river! The few negative things we noted was the pool furniture needed to be replaced...very tired looking. The hot tub leaked and needed to be filled with the water hose. We were not too interested in the hot tub due to the temps, but this would affect travelers in cooler weather. The neighbor did not have her dog on a leash (or Invisible Fence) and the dog was constantly wondering all over the place. This seemed to be okay until the dog attacked our dog. Definitely a negative so be careful. The Miles River is filled with Sea Nettles (jelly fish) this time of year. Our kids were reluctant to get in the water because I got stung and dealt with the pain for 24 hours. The sea nettles like the warm salty water and apparently thrive in the Miles River. We brought down our boat for water sport purposes, and this sea nettle information would have been good to know since our kids love to play in the water. Instead they played in the pool and not the river. Thank God for the pool!!
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great Place to stay when visiting the eastern shore.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
My family really enjoy our stayed, love the house and the view.
View Property: Captains Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
House was just as expected and looked in the pictures. would like to come down in the summer to enjoy boating right out the back yard.
View Property: Captains Cottage