Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Had a great visit to Oxford over the Xmas holidays. Very relaxing and peaceful house and town.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Our family gathered in this property for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The house was spacious and in good condition; The large family room, kitchen, and dining room with bench seating let us spend time together comfortably. Everything was exactly as depicted.

My two suggestions for improvement would be to (i) get rid of the small appliances which don't work (there were three coffee makers around, only one of which worked), and (ii) find a way to level the bed in the small upstairs bedroom (the floor tilts slightly, presumably because the house is old, which is fine, but we felt like we were going to roll out of the bed at night).
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Having the house in Oxford made the whole trip a huge success the house was the highlight of the trip. My son loved the house so much he wants his next house to look just like this one.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Enjoyed our stay in Oxford -- lovely little community. Great Ferry service also.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Property and location were exactly as described. How often does that happen? We loved the little town of Oxford and can't wait to return. Our only complaint was the mattress in the master bedroom, which was very uncomfortable. The property manager contacted
the owner, and it was replaced the very next day. Now THAT's service! Can't recommend the area and ESVR highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful week.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
A wonderful house for 8 people..nice outside courtyard to entertain...wonderful master bath...great kitchen...lots of linens...only thing...needs more outside lighting by front and especiaaly back door...easy bike ride to all restaurant and yacht club...ample
parking
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Red Shake lived up to our expectations based on all the other rave reviews we read. With 2 small kids, the house was ideally laid out and the fenced in yard gave us peace of mind while outside. Oxford as a whole was a little remote but the Strand beach
and Victor's ice cream more than made up for it!
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Location, comfort, style--this cottage has it all, and the management staff were wonderful. Only complaint is the bed in master bedroom: uncomfortable and noisy (no box spring). We'll be definitely back to a charming house in a quaint, tiny hamlet of Oxford.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The Red Shake Cottage was the perfect house for 7 adults visiting the area for 4 nights. The house is very spacious and comfortable and the area is beautiful. I'd definitely return.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The only problem was with the downstairs bed. The mattress made so much noise,especially getting in and out of bed, that we were uncomfortable with it the entire stay. We don't know if it's just the mattress or the bed itself is part of the problem.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
The house was great, but the beds were not comfortable, especially the downstairs bed (noone could sleep in it because it was so bad). They need a new can opener and coffee maker. These minor adjustments would make a really big difference. Porch & kitchen were great.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Great location. Very helpful staff from Eastern Shore Vacations. House was very nice. Improvements would include more televisions,upgrade to HD on the existing televisions and a DVD player that worked.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Thank you very much for everything! My family rented this house for the week leading up to my wedding at the Combsberry Inn and it was great. It was missing a music/CD player, but they brought one right over.
View Property: Red Shake Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Lovely house. Charming town (Oxford). Only complaint is that there was very little room in the kitchen for a renter to put things because it was filled with owners' belongings. We had to pile food on the counters. ESVR was great- the rental process could not have been easier.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a fabulous time in Oxford & thoroughly loved the Pride & Joy cottage. If possible, we'd love to come back next year. I got to visit the Mystery Loves Company shop but didn't get to the museum. We also enjoyed the Pope Tavern & Scottish Highland Creamery... on more than one occasion! Neighbors were warm & friendly. We were happy to meet so many other dog lovers. The cottage was charming & impeccably clean. We needed customer service once & they responded quickly & efficiently. A PERFECT vacation. As far as recommending it to others... I'm not sure because I want to keep this my little secret :-) I'm kidding. I'd recommend this trip to anyone!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
House was clean, well-appointed, and in a very quiet little neighborhood. Great choice for families with small children, as the folks that own this house have a few - several baby gates available, as well as lots of child-friendly plates/cups/silverware, booster seat, etc. Bunk beds have a nice high rail, and I felt comfortable with my 3 and 5 year olds sleeping up there. The TV turned right on to Disney Junior, and my kids had a blast taking a ride around the block in the wagon that was in the yard. Recommend the owners put black-out curtains in the bedroom with the bunk beds though!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a great time in Oxford over the 4th of July weekend. The accommodations were very nice and comfortable and the weather cooperated. We hope to return next year. Our only recommendation on the house in that the WiFi was a bit spotty, but other then that, it was great!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
lovely cottage and good location
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This cottage in the village of Oxford has been a favorite place for us to get away in the early spring for years. This house is our choice! Great little town on the Tred Avon River to walk the dog, outstanding seafood restaurants and best of all ESVR is great to deal with!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
Cottage was wonderful and very well accommodated, although there is only one television. I would suggest that the owners add at least one more to a bed room. Oxford is a very tiny town and with just a convenience store and a few pubs but it is surrounded by water in three directions. My only negative about the stay was: we had intended to do some Christmas cooking baking and there was no electric mixer. We would have brought our own but the management company suggested one was available--it wasn't. This was small compared to the quality of the house. We would definitely stay there again.
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
We had a wonderful weekend in Oxford! The house was in immaculate condition, and it was so charming and very well-appointed. We loved that we could walk across the street to the Oxford Inn for dinner and drinks. We enjoyed every minute of our time at Pride and Joy Cottage. Thank you!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Property Manager
Property
This is a lovely cottage. Cozy, very tastefully decorated, convenient. Highly recommend!
View Property: Pride and Joy Cottage