Bedding: 1 King, 1 Queen, 3 Twins, 1 Daybed/Trundle, 1 Full (Twin in 1st Floor MB not noted on Floor plan)
Pet Policy: Dog friendly, dogs travel free (2 dog limit please)
What do we love the most about this property? The list is long We love the meandering driveway to the shaded 12 acre parcel perched above the Chester River. We love the screened porch which is steps from the dock that hosts two kayaks for guests use and a simple floating dock for entry/exit. 2 single kayaks and 2 paddle boards provided and note that East Langford Creek, which lies beyond the duck blind offers some of the best paddling coves and creeks on the Shore as this is some of the least developed private waterfront in Maryland. Eagles, osprey, beaver, otter are all there. We love the home's construction details with stone fireplace, vaulted ceilings, original planked floors and huge views from a multitude of riverside windows, coupled with private and common gathering spaces throughout its 3,000 square feet. Let's not forget the waterside pool - you can't build them this close to the water anymore and this pool sits above the Chester River with great water views. The sun dapples throughout the afternoon on the pool decking providing just the right amount of sun to shade ratio. Guests should also bring their bikes. Kent County roads are built wide to handle farm machinery. Many have bike lanes. Others are lightly traveled and popular with cyclists. The property is about equidistant from Chestertown and Rock Hall. Both are bikeable for cycling enthusiasts. Beyond Rock Hall is Eastern Neck National Wildlife Refuge. You can rent crabbing boats by the bridge near the entrance. Lots of hiking trails. It is home to some of the few remaining Delmarva Fox Squirrels. Rock Hall has several lively waterfront bars. After an active day for those who love to cook check out the dueling charcoal propane grill, alfresco dining and large viking range and refrigerator. During the bountiful summer season the owner gladly plants a vegetable garden with tomatoes, peppers, squash, watermelon and more. As is the Eastern Shore way, he is happy to share his produce with all guests so walk down the lane and pick up something good for dinner, perhaps corn to go with crabs caught off the private dock. Need more - Chestertown is 10 minutes away and hosts a fabulous weekend farmer's market. Artisan bread at Evergrain Bread Company is a must or if you need a night out the Lemon Leaf Cafe is charming. Lovely Cove Farm is just that - lovely and the respite that so many of our guests crave. Give us a call or email and we will take it from there, vacationing as it should be!
Central Air Conditioning
Fireplace - Woodburning - wood not provided
Private Swimming Pool
Body of Water - Chester River
Private Dock - 3' MLW, Water & Electricity Available
Acreage - 12.46 Acres
(2) Single Kayaks Included
(2) Standup Paddle Boards Owner Provides Access to Vegetable Garden When In Season, so please feel free to help yourself to fresh produce
The property exceeded our expectations- it was beautiful, private, and calm. Just what we we were looking for! We drove to a restaurant one night in nearby Rock Hall but otherwise were glad to stay put and enjoy ourselves on site- there was plenty to do and enjoy.
Reviewed: May 30, 2017
Reviewed: Aug 29, 2016
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Responded to all inquiries in a timely manner.
Lovely cove is a wonderful property. It housed all family members comfortably. We enjoyed the pool daily and the grandkids loved fishing. Our only suggestion is the room with the daybed should have blinds since it is used as a bedroom.
Roaring Brook Twp, US
Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016
Staff is always friendly and willing to answer and questions or solve any problems. Very easy to work with.
Lovely Cove farm is a beautiful home with a spectacular view. There were 8 in our family vacation, and the home easily met our needs. The men enjoyed fishing from the dock, we all loved the pool. We made s'mores from the fire pit in the evening. We saw bald eagles, Ospreys, herons, cranes flying over the water. The fresh vegetables from the garden were such an added bonus, and having the gardener Bill deliver them to the front door was so thoughtful. We did find the beds to be hard and uncomfortable, but that is always a personal choice. A chest of drawers in the twin bedroom would be helpful, along with more bath towel racks . We had a very relaxing week at this gorgeous site, and brought home many wonderful memories.
Rockville Centre, US
Reviewed: Jul 11, 2016
Umbrellas were damaged in a storm, I called to remind them to deliver new umbrellas, which they did in a day.
We were thrilled with this property.
The views were great and visible from every room in the house but one bedroom and a library, and they dominate the first floor.
The kitchen was spacious and open with high end appliances that functioned properly and invited culinary experimentation. Since the sink overlooked the cove, everyone was eager to pitch in when it came to dish washing, even though the dishwasher worked fine. They feature a large gas barbeque, which we used for 4 or 5 meals.
The fireplace was attractive and functional and it sufficed for a family night when it was raining. On other nights we burned a fire in the fire pit and turned on the pool light (switch is in the shed housing the pool filter). When I told my 3-year old grandson we were going home, he asked if we could still night swim and roast marshmallows.
We found the two kayaks advertised, but there was also a canoe, which my son-in-law found more comfortable. It also allowed him to take his whole family on a canoe trip, although they had to use kayak paddles.
The screened in porch was great for the afternoon that we experienced a downpour and for the Fourth of July, which was a rainy day. Other than that, we were blessed with fine weather, which I think is important here since this is farm country, not honky-tonk beach town, and is pretty remote.
There are nice restaurants in Charlestown (we went to Lemon Leaf), which also has a beautiful historic center, and in Rock Hall (Waterman's). There is no discernable 'night life,' which we knew beforehand, and did not miss it on a family-oriented vacation like this. Biking was a bit tough for us since the road to Lovely Lane has a narrow shoulder and traffic moving at highway speeds, although we found drivers exceptionally courteous, always giving us a wide berth on the roads. We found dedicated bike paths in Charlestown, but we didn't do too much biking despite bringing three bicycles 200 miles since we enjoyed staying home so much.
The pool, though not heated, gets direct sun for part of the day and filtering shade most of the time. It was cold at first since there were several rainy days before we got there and during our first two days, but after a half day of sun it was as the family agreed, 'like a bathtub.'
There is a TV room with direct TV on a big flat screen, with 24-hour Disney Junior included. The internet is satellite provided, so you can email or even (as my granddaughter did) watch a cartoon on a phone, but leave the Roku home.
We rented a house in Rehoboth last year, and went without expectations but we had a splendid time. We faced this rental with the great memories of last year, so I cautioned the family to keep that in mind as vacation approached. We all agreed this house exceeded our high expectations.
Reviewed: Jun 27, 2016
Staff is nice but when we called about the power issue in the kitchen they were not too sure how to handle it. Then when they called to say someone was coming to look at the power I had to tell her that the handyman had already been there and could not fix the problem. She had no idea of this and i had to ask for someone else.
Beautiful quiet place. Great for a retreat. Old work charm with modern amenities. Pool is beautiful and the patio is a great place to relax.
Reviewed: Jun 15, 2016
The property was great -- as advertised. Beautiful property, easy check-in and quick responsiveness, enough kitchenware, etc. I would say my biggest complaint is that when you are spending $1,000/night somewhere, you expect certain things: enough toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, laundry and dish detergent, etc. There was definitely not that at this property. Seems like a simple solution -- go to Costco, stock up on all that stuff, and make sure your guests have what they need so they don't have to make 5 grocery store runs in 3 days because they keep finding things they need to buy.
MANAGER RESPONSE: Glad to see you had a good time and enjoyed Lovely Cove. As is standard practice in the industry, we provide a "starter" amount of paper products and toiletries, however, those items are the responsibility of the guest. Please be sure to refer to our FAQ page http://www.easternshorevacations.com/faq.asp#planArrival) or your Rental Agreement for a clarification of what is and is not provided.
Reviewed: Jun 8, 2016
We had a fabulous time but the place was lacking: no soap in any of the bathrooms, towels were thin and some of them just rags, beds were all very hard and uncomfortable,
pots and pans very poor shape, dishes need to be replaced, no cereal bowls or salad plates, no red wine glasses, only 2 packs of dish washer detergent and two very small bottles of dish detergent, only 1 roll of toilet paper for each bathroom, poorly organized kitchen. We felt as though all of this should have been provided.
The house itself was beautiful and roomy as were the grounds. We loved the water and the pool and surrounding area. We had a marvelous time but would not return unless the above changes were made.
MANAGER RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear you had a great time. As is standard practice in the industry, ESVR provides a few small things such as a starter roll of toilet paper, dish soap, etc. until you are able to get to the grocery store, however, as per our rental agreement these items are not provided by the owners. We have let the homeowner know that an inventory of kitchen items is in order to replace/stock up the items you mentioned. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Silver Spring, US
Reviewed: Sep 18, 2015
Little Ferry, US
Reviewed: Aug 10, 2015
All in all a great week. No issues whatsoever.
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very friendly. Had to call the day before to get the address and check-in procedure and was sent the email so not sure if that fell through the cracks or what. Minor issue
MANAGER RESPONSE: Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We typically send out the check in codes when the property is ready for occupancy and check in information as well as the property address is on your lease agreement which is available to you when you book your property. Glad you had a nice visit with us!
Thoroughly enjoyed it! Beautiful location and very relaxing. The house could use a little upkeep in terms of maintenance but overall a wonderful experience!
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at this location. Love how it's tucked away in a woodland area. The house is perfect for a family to rent for the weekend, and it's not too far from Chestertown for your grocery needs. Really enjoyed the kayaking and the solitude of the area. Definite recommended!
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
The property description is accurate; the house and grounds are wonderful and peaceful.
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2014
Our family had a really good time at Lovely Cove. The setting was very beautiful and very private. A true nature lover's dream. Spent the week watching the heron and eagles nest right on the river. The house was decorated with beautiful antiques and updated kitchen was lovely. We fished, kayaked and swam in the pool. Our seven year old caught his very first fish! Few notes: There is a large hornets nest outside on the master bedroom balcony. The pool skimmer was completely broken. My husband tried to buy one off of the pool cleaners but they said they did not have one. The largest umbrella by the pool was broken/dry rotted. Upstairs master bath/shower diverter(handle) was broken so we could not shower in that bath at all. In fact both upstairs shower/bath units need attention/updating. That may be the only reason that would possibly stop us from returning to Lovely Cove. The owner has obviously taken great care of the home just needs to address the tub/shower's in both baths and he'll have a home run! All in all we had a fantastic trip!